Volunteers As Chesapeake Stewards (VoiCeS)

volunteer-speakers-outdoor_byCBFStaff_695x352

CBF Staff

CBF's adult education program is designed to reach local volunteers and their communities and create a deeper understanding of the Bay and the efforts to restore it.

REGISTRATION NOW OPEN FOR FALL 2020

Live online classes Tuesday evenings from 7:00-8:30 p.m., October 6-November 17, 2020 (no class November 3)

This year, VoiCeS is going virtual and will be available watershed wide. Participants will be “in class” with other like-minded folks from across Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania, although some classes will be region-specific.
 
The course will include live online classes on Tuesday evenings and one to two hours of pre-recorded materials participants can watch at their leisure. Participants must attend at least five of the six classes.

FEE: The course fee is $25 per household, which includes one seat on the Zoom webinars. We understand the current pandemic has created challenges for many people. Therefore, we have a limited number of spaces available for those who wish to participate but cannot manage the registration fee at this time. If you’re interested in this option, please contact the appropriate event coordinator below.

More details below.

Baltimore
Event Coordinator: Carmera Thomas-Wilhite cthomas@cbf.org
Register Now

Maryland Capital Region
Event Coordinator: Anna Mudd amudd@cbf.org
Register Now

Pennsylvania
Event Coordinator: Carla Johns cjohns@cbf.org
Register Now

Central Virginia
Event Coordinator: Gabby Troutman gtroutman@cbf.org
Register Now

Rappahannock and Potomac Watersheds
Event Coordinator: Ann Jurczyk ajurczyk@cbf.org
Register Now

Hampton Roads
Event Coordinator: Tanner Council tcouncil@cbf.org
Register Now

Long-term improvements in the health of the Chesapeake Bay and its rivers and streams, as well as the implementation and defense of the Chesapeake Clean Water Blueprint, requires knowledgeable, active, and inspired citizens. CBF's Volunteers as Chesapeake Stewards, or VoiCeS, classes offer a professionally-taught, intensive educational training course for clean water advocates who want to take a more active role in saving the Bay.

Gain a deeper understanding of the Chesapeake Bay watershed and the challenges facing Bay restoration, find out the steps you can take to clean up your local waterways, and learn how to engage your community and elected officials.

Armed with their classroom knowledge, this year's VoiCeS participants will commit to 20 hours of volunteer work throughout the coming year on behalf of improving local water quality and the Chesapeake Bay. Past participants' efforts have ranged from writing editorial pieces for newspapers to restoring an entire shoreline. Participants are encouraged to develop projects that draw on their natural talents and interests.

Share Your Clean Water Story

What does the Bay, its rivers and streams mean to you? What impact have the Bay and its local waters had on your life? We'd like to know.

Share Your Story

Stay Up-to-Date on Bay News

Want to stay up-to-date on all news and happenings in your region and across the Chesapeake watershed? Join our digital community.

Sign Up
x
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Close