Past Honorees

DC on the Half Shell began in 2016 as an opportunity to honor exemplary partners. This event allows CBF to celebrate the honoree's strides in conservation along with 600+ of their friends, family, business partners, and bay-loving peers.

DC on the Half Shell has helped CBF expand within the D.C. market, raise awareness of the importance of oysters, and raise over $3.6 million toward saving the Bay. Below are past award recipients and honorees.


(From left) Hilary Harp Falk, Elizabeth Oliver-Farrow, Truman Semans, Alden Stone, Conservationist of the Year Will Baker.

Daniel Swartz

Honoree: Will Baker
Event Chairs: Truman T. Semans and Alden E. Stoner
The Chesapeake Bay Foundation celebrated our own Will Baker's career and legacy by recognizing the recently retired president as Conservationist of the Year.


(From left) Will Baker, Elizabeth Oliver-Farrow, Susan Mars and Frank Mars accepting the Conservationist of the Year award on behalf of Mars, Anne Mehringer, John Beaty.

Daniel Swartz

Honoree: Frank and Susan Mars on behalf of Mars, Incorporated
Event Chairs: Anne L. Mehringer & John T. Beaty, Jr.
On behalf of Mars and the Mars Family, Frank and Susan Mars accepted the 2020 Conservation of the year award for the company's and family's long-demonstrated commitment to the environment and leadership in corporate sustainability.


(From left) Will Baker, Conservationist of the Year Kim Horner

Honoree: Kim Horner on behalf of Kaiser Permanente of the Mid-Atlantic States
Kim Horner accepted the 2019 Conservationist of the year award on behalf of Kaiser Permanente of the Mid-Atlantic States. They raised the bar for corporate impact with their deep commitment to organization-wide environmentally friendly practices.


(From left) Larry Culp, Conservationist of the Year Kurt Landgraf, Scott Miller, David Kaufman, Will Baker.

Honoree: Kurt Landgraf on behalf of Washington College & Dr. Scott Miller on behalf of Virginia Wesleyan University
Event Chairs: Wendy & Larry Culp along with Kay & David Kaufman
In 2018, Washington College & Virginia Wesleyan University both earned the Conservationist of the Year award for their leadership and dedication to educating and empowering the next generation of Bay leaders.


(From left) 2017 Conservationist of the Year Arne Sorenson, Rick Hoffman, Katie Leavy, Will Baker.

Honoree: Arne Sorenson on behalf of Marriott International
Event Chairs: Katie & David Leavy
Serve Our World is one of Marriott's core values which guides how they do business, support local communities and work to protect the environment. This company-wide effort and longstanding partnership with CBF earned them the 2017 Conservationist of the Year award.


(From left) Michael Hankin accepts the Conservationist of the Year award from Will Baker.

Erin Schaff

Honoree: Michael D. Hankin, President and CEO of Brown Advisory
Event Chair: Susan Aplin
Michael Hankin received the first ever Conservationist of the Year in 2016. Serving a leader within the community, Michael has made it his mission to make the Baltimore harbor swimmable and fishable once again.

The Bay Needs You

The State of the Bay Report makes it clear that the Bay needs our support now more than ever. Your donation helps the Chesapeake Bay Foundation maintain our momentum toward a restored Bay, rivers, and streams for today and generations to come.

Donate Today

Stay Up-to-Date on Bay News

Want to stay up-to-date on all news and happenings in your region and across the Chesapeake watershed? Join our digital community.

Sign Up
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Close