Hampton Roads Oyster Gardening Seminars

New Gardeners

NEW GARDENERS: Please read our New Gardeners web page before you register for a seminar.

We ask that that all new oyster gardeners attend one of our New Gardener Seminars in June before gardening their first year. The seminars will teach you how to maintain your oyster garden throughout the coming year. After the seminar you will receive spat-on-shell (baby oysters set on recycled shells) and two 18" x 10" cages to grow them in. We require a $25 fee for this system to offset program costs. Not sure whether or not oyster gardening is for you? Listen and learn for free and only pay if you decide to participate.

Registration is now open. Click on the location links below to register.

2018 New Oyster Gardener Seminars
Wachapreague Tuesday, June 5
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Norfolk Thursday, June 7
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Williamsburg Saturday, June 9
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Hampton Thursday, June 14
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Virginia Beach Saturday, June 16
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Newport News Tuesday, June 19
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Deltaville Saturday, June 23
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Dahlgren Tuesday, June 26
5:00-7:00 p.m.
Smithfield Thursday, June 28
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Lancaster Saturday, June 30
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Virginia Beach II Saturday, August 11
9:00-11:00 a.m.

If you have questions regarding CBF's Oyster Gardening program please e-mail OysterGardener@cbf.org or call 757-644-4125.

**Please wear gloves and relevant protective clothing while handling your oyster shells or float in order to prevent waterborne illness.**

Share Your Clean Water Story

What does the Bay, its rivers and streams mean to you? What impact have the Bay and its local waters had on your life? We'd like to know.

Share Your Story

Volunteer

Do you enjoy working with others to help clean the Chesapeake Bay? Do you have a few hours to spare? Whether growing oysters, planting trees, or helping in our offices, there are plenty of ways you can contribute.

Volunteer
x
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Agree