Hampton Roads Oyster Gardening Roundup

Returning Gardeners

Each year, CBF oyster gardeners turn in their "mature" oysters at CBF Oyster Roundups at various locations throughout Virginia. This year we will be collecting oysters in June. That same day, CBF transplants the oysters to state-managed sanctuary reefs, where they are allowed to continue growing and spawning—helping to jump-start local oyster populations.

These roundups are also a way to get new baby oysters for the year. A $25 fee is required for spat-on-shell set up (baby oysters and two 18" x 10" cages to grow them in) to offset program costs. 

Registration is now open. Click on the location links below to register.

2018 Oyster Gardening Roundups
Wachapreague Tuesday, June 5
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Norfolk  Thursday, June 7
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Williamsburg Saturday, June 9
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Hampton Thursday, June 14
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Virginia Beach Saturday, June 16
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Newport News Tuesday, June 19
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Deltaville Saturday, June 23
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Dahlgren Tuesday, June 26
5:00-7:00 p.m.
Smithfield Thursday, June 28
6:00-8:00 p.m.
Lancaster Saturday, June 30
9:00-11:00 a.m.
Virginia Beach II Saturday, August 11
9:00-11:00 a.m.

If you have questions regarding CBF's Oyster Gardening program please send an email to OysterGardener@cbf.org or call 757-644-4125.

**Please wear gloves and relevant protective clothing while handling your oyster shells or float in order to prevent waterborne illness.**

Decades of Success: The 1970s

Even as a young organization, our work was effective and got noticed. Find out what we did.

Explore Our Timeline

Save the Bay

Founded in 1967, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) is the largest independent conservation organization dedicated solely to saving the Bay.

Save the Bay
x
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Agree