Delegate Bulova Presented CBF 2019 Legislator of Year Award

Del Bulova 2019 award-Kenny Fletcher-695x352

The Chesapeake Bay Foundation presents Delegate Bulova 2019 Legislator of the Year award in Richmond.

Kenny Fletcher

(RICHMOND, VA)—The Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) recently presented Delegate David Bulova (D-Fairfax) with a 2019 Legislator of the Year award for his leadership in restoring Virginia's waterways. 

"Delegate Bulova's longstanding dedication to the environment has made him a Virginia leader in restoring our waterways. While he's had many notable achievements over the years, in 2019 Delegate Bulova championed legislation that will directly help the Commonwealth of Virginia improve the health of our waterways and the Chesapeake Bay," said CBF Virginia Executive Director Rebecca Tomazin.

As a Vice-Chair of the Chesapeake Bay Commission, Delegate Bulova works to ensure effective coordination among regional states in restoring the Chesapeake Bay. 

In 2019 Bulova sponsored successful legislation to conduct much-needed assessments of the demand for grants to help local governments reduce polluted runoff through the Stormwater Local Assistance Fund. A second assessment will evaluate grant funding needed for sewage treatment plant upgrades.

Bulova also sponsored separate legislation this year that will prevent toxic contaminants from washing into local waterways during firefighter training exercises. Additional legislation will preserve wetlands around dams.

"I couldn't be more honored. Protecting our environment has been a lifelong passion of mine and is a major reason I ran for the House of Delegates. Virginia is blessed to have the wonderful, dedicated people at CBF who work every day to restore the Chesapeake Bay—a true national treasure," Bulova said.

CBF's Legislator of the Year Awards are presented to lawmakers who have made outstanding efforts in the General Assembly to improve the health and resources of Virginia's rivers, streams, and the Chesapeake Bay. CBF also presented a 2019 Legislator of the Year award to Senator Emmett Hanger (R-Augusta) for his work securing historic investments in farm conservation practices, and his support for the Stormwater Local Assistance Fund and other advances in Chesapeake Bay restoration. 

Support the Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Your donation helps the Chesapeake Bay Foundation maintain our momentum toward a restored Bay, rivers, and streams for today and generations to come.

Donate Today

Save the Bay

Founded in 1967, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) is the largest independent conservation organization dedicated solely to saving the Bay.

Save the Bay
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Close