CBF Commends Election of Maryland Senator Sarah Elfreth as Chesapeake Bay Commission Chair

Maryland State Senator Sarah Elfreth was elected the new chair of the Chesapeake Bay Commission earlier this month. In this role, Sen. Elfreth will oversee the commission’s work to coordinate legislative and policy action throughout the largest Bay watershed states—Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia.

Sen. Elfreth, who represents the Annapolis area in the Maryland legislature, has been a leader on Bay issues. She guided bills through the General Assembly to permanently protect oyster restoration sanctuaries, enable communities to improve flood prevention, and reformed Maryland’s Environmental Justice Commission.

CBF Maryland Executive Director Josh Kurtz issued the following statement: 

“We’re encouraged to see a proven leader in Sen. Elfreth being named to this important oversight position at a critical time for the overall Chesapeake Bay cleanup. We have just four years left for states to meet the 2025 deadline to reduce pollution throughout the watershed to bring the Bay’s health back into balance. It’s going to take creativity and determination to reach the 2025 goals—two qualities we’ve seen before in Sen. Elfreth.” 

 # # #

aj metcalf 90x110

A.J. Metcalf

Former Maryland Media & Communications Coordinator, CBF

Support the Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Your donation helps the Chesapeake Bay Foundation maintain our momentum toward a restored Bay, rivers, and streams for today and generations to come.

Donate Today

Save the Bay

Founded in 1967, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) is the largest independent conservation organization dedicated solely to saving the Bay.

Save the Bay
This website uses cookies to tailor and enhance your online experience. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information, including details on how to disable cookies, please visit our Privacy Policy. Close